Sun. Jul 21st, 2024



The Tasmanian Heritage Council (THC) will have some new faces from 1 January 2014.

The Tasmanian Minister for Environment, Parks and Heritage, Brian Wightman, said that five new members would join the THC and one had been reappointed and are based on professional expertise or as representatives of organisations named in the Historic Cultural Heritage Act 1995.

“The six appointees will join Chairperson, Dr Dianne Snowden and eight council colleagues and come at a time when the first major changes are being made to the Tasmania’s historic heritage legislation since 1995. 

“These reflect a genuine desire to cut red tape, streamline existing processes and introduce much more transparent and user-friendly approaches that will help to generate greater clarity, consistency and certainty in the heritage sector,” he said.

Thank you to The Roof Doctor for sponsoring this history Month.

Mr Wightman thanked outgoing THC members Ald Sandra French, Mary Ramsay, Peter Cripps and the Rev Allan Thompson for their contribution to the council.

The new members of the Tasmanian Heritage Council are:


Ms Denise Gaughwin – A person with expertise in archaeology

Mr Peter Romey – A person with expertise in architecture


Ald Jeremy Ball – Representing the Local Government Association

Mr Frazer Read –  Representing the building development industry (re-appointed for a second term)

Mr David Gattenby –  Representing the Tasmanian Farmers andGraziers Association

Rev Roger Hesketh – Representing the Tasmanian Council of Churches


We would also like thank Men in Action.

Copyright © All rights reserved. |


by AF themes.